LEAN ON ME

Yuri and I took a walk on this beautiful sunny morning. . . he will be a year old this week and needs to walk off his energy! I took my phone and we enjoyed Bill Wither’s LEAN ON ME!!

“Sometimes in our lives
We all have pain,
We all have sorrow.
But if we are wise
We know there’s
Always tomorrow.
Lean on me!

Isn’t that a fact of life—we all have pain and sorrow. That is what life is. . . but there is always tomorrow when the joy will come. . . would we enjoy the mountain top if we were never in the valley? As a child I always wondered why God didn’t stop the pain and just bring joy to everyone. HE certainly had the power–I mean HE created the Earth!

BUT . . . would lessons be learned? I have learned much in my failures. . . in my dark days. I wouldn’t be who I am today without those days.. . . I often tried to stand alone, thinking I had to do it by myself. . . not true! I leaned on family, friends, and God. Pretty powerful learning and growth when that happens.

Keiko Kasza is one of my favorite authors. I read Grandpa Toad’s Secrets to some of the students this week. In the story, Grandpa shares his three secrets with his grandson. . . when facing the enemy, you must 1) be brave, 2) be smart, 3) always have a friend that you can trust and count on. Thank you Keiko Kasza!

Lean on me when you’re not strong . . . We’ll be brave together. We’ll be cool, calm, and collected to ride out the storm of life. We’ll pray to God for strength and wisdom to know what to do. We’ll be smart . . . looking at all sides, trying one solution after another until we find the right one. We’ll be the friends we can count on. . . you only have one or two real friends in this life. . . just sitting side by side in silence is enough. . . OR crying together until there are no more tears.

“We all need somebody to lean on
Lean on me when you’re not strong.
I’ll be your friend
I’ll help you carry on.
For it won’t be long
Till I’m gonna need
Somebody to lean on.” . . .Thank you Bill Withers

With God by our sides we can do all things, He is our refuge. Thank God each and every day . . . in the joy and in the sorrows (big or small). . . while in the valley on on the mountain top!

Leave a Reply

