My Quilt

Tick tock. . . tick tock. . .

I can’t sleep, I can’t sleep.

I remember way back . . . .

when I was a little girl.

 

I had a favorite quilt,

soft, comfortable,

covered with buildings.

 

When I couldn’t sleep,

I’d make up stories

about people living in those houses . . .

instead of counting sheep.

Safe, warm, cozy!!!

 

My great grandma had made the quilt

buildings, little stitches, tender loving care.

Later I found out,

Those buildings were schoolhouses.

 

Did she imagine that one day

I would be a teacher?

Tick Tock, Tick Tock,

I can’t sleep, I can’t sleep. . .

Memories of long ago,
Little girl, college, my baby girls. . .

 

Happy times, safe times, loving times. . .

S a f e, W a r m, C o z y!

 

Z Z Z Z Z

 

Leave a Reply

