Circle of Courage. . . learning. . .living

I am sitting here with a cup of coffee. . . listening to the rain falling on the metal roof, thinking how blessed I have been. I had a great supportive family of Mom, Dad, brother, sister, extended family, church family, neighbors. How blessed is that? Over the years working with elementary children, I see many that don’t have that support system. How sad that is.  I ran across this article this week that I shared on Facebook. . . The Circle of Courage.  I have been pondering it for days. This is a model of positive youth development from RECLAIMING YOUTH AT RISK by Larry Brendtro, Martin Brokenleg, and Steve Van Bockern.  It has reminded me of WORKSHOP WAY training that I had.

Children need to feel important and that they belong . . . whether it is in a classroom on in a family. Chores are a good thing. . . not just for the sake of chores. but to know that the family is depending on them. In doing the jobs or chores, children are given the skill of managing their time. . .  work hard and fast or work at a slower pace. . . it doesn’t matter. Just work. And then comes the pride of accomplishment. Isn’t that what we all hope to gain?

The Circle of Courage Philosophy has listed four areas:

BELONGING

MASTERY

INDEPENDENCE

GENEROSITY

I could summarize the article for you, but I think our youth are worth the effort given by each of us to learn more about this. . . I am ordering my book now. I hope you will investigate the article and book if you agree to its importance.

Leave a Reply

