First Grade Life Lesson

“And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.: I am reminded of two boys in my first grade class, many years ago. “”ROB” was an average student with a kind heart. “FRED” was above average academically, but behavior was a huge problem. Fred’s parents had tried everything to get him to behave. Some worked for a while. They promised him a car, truck, legoes. . . if he could go a week without trouble.
 
One day while outside for recess, ROB came up to me. He said, “Can I ask you a question?” A teacher is never sure where this is going, but I told him of course and braced myself. “You know I try to follow the rules, and I’m always polite. I try to make Mom and Dad proud and happy. But I don’t get toys. FRED is always brining things and bragging that he had gotten them for being good. It doesn’t seem fair!” WOW. . . . that was more than a question–it was an observation of life.
 
I assured ROB that he was a great student and citizen. All the classmates loved and respected him. I was very proud of him! I asked him if he wanted to act like FRED so he could get toys. He looked at me like I had four heads! He replied, “NO! Are you kidding me? My parents wouldn’t buy the toys for being bad–I would be in time out for months!”
 
I told him he had learned and important life lesson . . he felt good in his heart! That is better than anything money could buy! It takes some children longer to learn life’s lessons. I have lost track of ROB. I am sure he is successful. FRED has remained in the area, and I have seen him be a good dad.
“Let us not be weary of doing good. . . “
Leave a Reply

