Survivors Club Review

Reading Survivors Club by Michael Bornstein and Debbie Bornstein Holinstat.

 

Heart wrenching story about survival of a young prisoner of Auschwitz.  How could anyone question the reality of these death camps? How could anyone so young survive?  Prayers, hope, and belief that “this too shall pass!”  I’ve finished the first third of the book and plan to nestle down on this rainy day to read more. . .

 

I am thinking of two  of my favorite hymns. . .

 

Thus far the Lord has led me on;

Thus far His power prolongs my days;

And every evening shall make known,

Some fresh memorials of His grace.

Much of my time has run to waste,

And I, perhaps am near my home;

But He forgives my follies past;

He gives me strength for days to come.

I lay my body down to sleep

Peace is the pillow for my head,

While well appointed angels

Keep their watchful stations round my bed.
In vain the sons of earth or hell,

Tell me a thousand frightful things,

But God in safety makes me dwell

Beneath the shadow of His wings.. . .

 

AND

 

. . . while blessed with a sense of His love,

A palace a toy would appear;

And prisons would palaces prove,

If Jesus would dwell with me there.
Jesus will always be with us!  He promised!  We can rest in peace knowing, believing that!

Leave a Reply

