Gardens

I Come To The Garden

 

“I come to the garden alone

While the dew is still on the roses

And the voice I hear falling on my ear

The Son of God discloses.

 

And He walks with me, and He talks with me,

And He tells me I am His own;

And the joy we share as we tarry there,

None other has ever known.”

 

You will find God in the garden. . . I do! I feel close to Him. I feel close to Mom too!  Her gardens were immaculate, not a weed. I think that was her peaceful spot, her “gazebo”  It was quiet there. . . we three kids were surely NOT there unless we had to be!  I Come To The Garden was her lullaby song for Ed.

 

When you think about it. . . a garden is like a life. Watching it grow, plants, maturing, bearing food, seeds forming and spreading, hope for another year, harvesting. . . withering and dying.

 

. . . but there are weeds, and they multiply fast.  They can take the nourishment right out of the soil/soul.  One has to be diligent to keep the garden clean and growing.  Life is like that . . . negative comments can suck the life right out of your soul.  Negative actions can keep us from being who we really are, the best, positive, helpful person God purposed us to be.

 

My father-in-law’s garden is beautiful.  He has had almost 95 years to get his garden in order.  I know it is hot and humid today, but I’m heading down to the garden. I need to get mine in order.  How about you?

 

Leave a Reply

