Thus Far. . .

Thus Far . . .

 

Monday was a beautiful day.  Yuri and I were enjoying the morning in the gazebo. . . dew on the grass sparkled like diamonds.  Birds were  singing a beautiful aria. A gentle breeze was fluttering the flag quietly. . . I pondered. . . a hymn, one of my favorites.

 

Thus far the Lord has led me on:

His power prolongs my days.”

 

What did he see in me that He would give me life –twice?? He continues to give me strength for the day, for the battles of the world.

 

“And every evening shall make known

Some fresh memorials of His grace.”

 

Every night when I lay my head on my pillow, I thank God for my church, my wonderful family, my great country, my friends. I thank God for His love, grace, and mercy.

 

I lay my body down to sleep;

Peace is the pillow for my head.

While well appointed angels

Keep their watchful

Stations round my bed.

 

In vain the sons of earth or hell

Tell me a thousand frightful things,

My God in safety makes me dwell

Beneath the shadow of His wings.”

 

Worries and fears have often plagued me throughout my life.  Am I good enough — as a person? A wife? A mom? A teacher? A friend? I always seem to fall short.  Would Rich survive? Would the girls be okay? Could I go on alone/ The list goes on and on and on.  But I have found whenever I look up, put one foot in front of the other, God is by my side–Never to leave me alone.

 

Much of my time has run to waste.

And I, perhaps, am near my home;

But he forgives my follies past;

He gives me strength for days to come.

 

Thus far the Lord has led me on.”

Leave a Reply

