My Lesson, Praising as I Ought

Penny Schwap wrote of her grandson’s 4-H heifer.  He had high hopes for the fair.  She was a beautiful animal. . .  but she was stubborn and easily spooked.  Because she could be a danger to others, she couldn’t be taken to the fair. Penny compared that behavior to parts of her life when she missed out  on God’s best for her. . . because she stubbornly wanted to do it her way!  Her prayer, “Guiding God, You want the best for your children.  Help me remember that, when I follow you.  I’m always a part of your main event.”

 

One of my greatest lessons in life is praising God with a thankful heart.  Learning to praise him in the good times is easy.  Praising Him in the hard times is much more difficult.  . . Praise Him in the strong times. . . Praise Him in the weak times.  Are you getting the message?  Praise Him in every condition.  Ours is not to question how or why? . . . God in His supremeness has a plan–THE PLAN.

 

“How sweet the name of Jesus sounds

In a believer’s ear

It soothes the sorrows

Heals his wounds

And drives away his fear.

 

It makes the wounded Spirit whole

And calms the troubled breast

Tis manna to the hungry soul

And to the weary, rest.

. . . Jesus, My Shepherd, Husband,

Friend, My Prophet, Priest, and King,

My Lord, my life, my way, my end.

Accept the praise I bring.

 

Weak is the effort of my heart,

And cold my warmest thought,

But when I see Thee as Thou art,

I’ll praise Thee as I ought.

Leave a Reply

