Dad . . . Still Singing Songs

Anyone that knew Dad, knew that he loved to sing and had a beautiful bass voice . . . to list all his favorite songs would take many pages.  He won a singing contest at the nursing home singing Amazing Grace. The Taylor University choir was visiting on another day. Someone told one of the students that it was Dad’s birthday.  She came over and asked, “John can we sing happy birthday to you?”  Dad smiled and said, “That would be great, but I’d rather you sing Amazing Grace.”  She turned to tell the others but before they could start, Dad started singing.  Soon everyone one joined it. . . it sounded like a choir of angels. The gal came back over to him and said, “ You really can sing!”  Dad chuckled and replied proudly. . . “I have been singing all my life!”

 

Another favorite. . .

Take My Hand Precious Lord

 

When my way groweth drear
Precious Lord linger near

When my life is almost gone;

Hear my cry, hear my call,

Hold my hand lest I fall,

Take my hand precious Lord,

Lead me home.

 

. . . .Nearing life journey’s end,

By my Guide, be my Friend,

Give me strength Lord,

To overcome,

I’ll not go alone,

For by grace I’m Thine own

Take my hand, precious Lord,

Lead me home!

 

Precious Lord, take my hand,

Lead me on, let me stand

I am tired, I am weak,

I am worn.

Thru the storm, thru the night,

Lead me on to the light.

Take my hand precious Lord,

Lead me home~~~~4/18/15

Leave a Reply

